Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > General Discussion
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Today's Posts

General Discussion General Horse Racing Discussion

Old 04-05-2009, 09:44 AM   #1
TheSpokesman
AlwNW3X

Advice for the beginner

As many of you know I am pretty new to the forum. I have enjoyed my time here a great deal, and am looking forward to learning from all of you. If you have read some of my previous posts you will know that I am a licensed jockey agent and do a bit of handicapping, so the basic tenets of the game are very familiar to me. I am primarily a speed handicapper, but my personal methods involve giving consideration to the four factors of form, class, speed and pace.

I have only a passing familiarity with the Sartin Methodology. I want to learn more. My belief is that knowledge is power and that the more knowledge a handicapper has the greater his edge.

Here's where I need help from you guys and gals. Can any you spare a little time to walk me through this and answer a few questions? The first thing I need to know is where to begin. Remember, I know very little about the method so approach me as you would a three-year old child. Tell me where to start, what to read first. As I stated, I am a fairly good handicapper. For the purposes of learning this method, however, let's assume I know absolutely nothing. If you were explaining this to someone for the first time where would you begin? That's what I am after.

I truly appreciate any help given in helping me to learn the method.

The Spokesman
TheSpokesman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 10:00 AM   #2
JimG
Grade 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSpokesman View Post