Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > General Discussion
Mark Forums Read
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts

General Discussion General Horse Racing Discussion

Old 05-20-2011, 08:17 PM   #1
dabombbizzle
AlwNW1X

New to horse racing and the site.

Hey everyone. Just wanted to say hi and introduce myself. I'm quite new to horse racing and very new to the site here. I started watching horse racing to pass the time at work. I like to gamble on bet365.com and horse racing was one of the few things I could stream live at work to help pass the time. I found it quite interesting and very exciting.

I've spent a couple hours browsing the site and readng about pars, handicapping, different racing styles etc... and I've got a better understanding of how it works... But still some questions I'm hoping someone can easily explain.

Question 1: I see there is many different classes. My understanding is it's a bit like baseball. You have MLB, AAA, AA, A. Naturally the best horses race in the "MLB" class if you will.

Does each race track only race 1 class of horses? Or will they host all kinds of different classes?

Question 2: The site I use to bet only allowws you to pick a winner. If you really want to let your hair down you can parlay another horse to place. I've seen people discuss their tickets and it seems like some pick 3 possible winners, 5 possible places, and like maybe different choices for show.

Never seeing a real racing form or betting slip this seems quite confusing to me. Are these tickets more along the lines of what a seasoned horse racing fan may do? Or are these quite standard bets?