Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > General Discussion
Mark Forums Read
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts

General Discussion General Horse Racing Discussion

Old 03-29-2010, 12:21 PM   #1
Bill P
AlwNW1X

Major vs. Minor tracks

Since I’m new to the handicapping arena there are many topics that are a mystery to me. One of these is classifying a race track as minor or major.

I’m guessing that this is important when comparing PP pace lines because of the quality of horses running at minor or major tracks. A true apple to apple comparison is not possible betweeen minor or major tracks.

My understanding is that average purse values is the determining factor. For example, average purse value per race at Santa Anita $50,000 (major) - average purse value Calder $20,000 (minor). Higher purses mean better horses.

Does that ring true?

Also, where can I find what the average purse value of track is?

Thanks,

Bill P
Bill P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 01:02 PM   #2
For The Lead
Grade 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill P View Post
Since I’m new to the handicapping arena there are many topics that are a mystery to me. One of these is classifying a race track as minor or major.

I’m guessing that this is important when comparing PP pace lines because of the quality of horses running at minor or major tracks. A true apple to apple comparison is not possible betweeen minor or major tracks.

My understanding is that average purse values is the determining factor. For example, average purse value per race at Santa Anita $50,000 (major) - average purse value Calder $20,000 (minor). Higher purses mean better horses.

Does that ring true?

Also, where can I find what the average purse value of track is?

Thanks,

Bill P
Hope this helps.

http://www.drf.com/misc/pursevalueindex.pdf