Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > General Discussion
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Today's Posts

General Discussion General Horse Racing Discussion

Old 02-02-2015, 06:55 PM   #1
Bill Lyster
Grade 1

Location: Escondido CA just 25 minutes from where the turf meets the surf - "...at Del Mar"
horses going up in class

Does anyone have statistics on the success rates of various classes of horses going up in clas?

Things like 4 and up horses going up in claiming price in sprints and then routes.

I want to be able to quantify chances after I choose my contenders

Anyone know circumstances that favor class risers?

Thanks
Bill Lyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 10:21 PM   #2
atkinsrr
Grade 1

Bill I've been using BRIS RACE RATINGS for over 20 years and the reason for that is the class structure in racing has changed so much over the years in the form..example: I'll see a C50,000 with lower class horses in it than a C25,000 or C30,000. Optional Claimers sometimes the same. BRIS RR clear this up for me sometimes...but with that being said...most of the races that I bet are stakes races and OC's. on the turf . Just recently have started going down into the claiming ranks....but you will get horses in the same race that are tied in RR maybe 4 or 5 of them and have to use pace ratings to separate them. I guess the best definition of class is in follow up #56 page 46 where "DOC" said Setting or Overcoming the pace that it ran against. He was quoting out of a Ray Taulbot book...but as we know the high class horse doesn't always win the race. Also follow up 36 page 65 has a couple of paragraphs about class. I know..I'm not much help here but that's the best I can do....Good luck Randy A.
atkinsrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 08:51 AM   #3
Mitch44
Grade 1