PDA

View Full Version : What really matters?

Psychotic Parakeet
11-07-2017, 01:18 PM
I need some guidance from you gurus here. I have been using Sartin Methodology since 2003, following this forum for nearly 10 years, and even had the RDSS software installed on my old Windows laptop a while back. I know there are some discrepancies with the program for Apple users, which is what I use now, so I had to create my own "Sartin" program from scratch using the Numbers program.

Anyways, long story short, but what factors and/or formulas really matter in deducing down probable contenders? I obviously have the classic EP, AP, SP, TT, FX, TTL, and E%, but I would like to add more to it, if possible. Are there certain factors that matter more at specific distances and/or surfaces? I am just getting back into the game, ironically it happened on Breeders' Cup weekend, and I am itching to go forward again.

I appreciate any insight, suggestions, and help you can offer me. Thank you so much!

-Laura

Bill V.
11-07-2017, 04:05 PM
I would say, Make sure you have viable true contenders first

then since you have a EP, AP, SP, TT, FX, rating make a line score of these
readouts then eliminate to your top 4 or 5 and the top 4 or 5 total energy (if you have it )

I would read a follow FTL's guidelines
for contenders

Good Skill
Bill

Jeebs
11-07-2017, 04:40 PM
I would say, Make sure you have viable true contenders first

then since you have a EP, AP, SP, TT, FX, rating make a line score of these
readouts then eliminate to your top 4 or 5 and the top 4 or 5 total energy (if you have it )

I would read a follow FTL's guidelines
for contenders

Good Skill
Bill

As Bill said, TRUE contenders come first. The horses that CAN win. You’re not necessarily handicapping the most likely winners, but the most likely losers before moving on to who is left (the likely winners) if that makes sense?